Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Clerk News

Clerks honor Legislators with 2018 Partnership Award

Tuesday, September 25, 2018   (0 Comments)

Senator Jeff Brandes of St. Petersburg and Representative Chris Sprowls of Clearwater were honored by the Florida Court Clerks and Comptrollers (FCCC) for their partnership on good public policy to innovate, strengthen and improve Florida’s criminal justice system on September 17 at the Pinellas County Justice Center.


“Florida’s Clerks and Comptrollers are proud to stand with two great leaders of our state, Sen. Brandes and Rep. Sprowls, on initiatives that support the needs of our shared constituents,” said the Honorable Ken Burke, CPA (Pinellas). “Clerks look forward to continuing to be strong local partners with the Florida Legislature in good public policy and sound fiscal management, as well as working together to bring greater stability to the critical core services Clerks and Comptrollers offer to people throughout our state.”


“The strong partnership between legislative leaders Sen. Brandes and Rep. Sprowls, and our Clerks of Court on SB 1392 during the 2018 legislative session ensured a clear understanding of the needs of local communities as the legislation was developed,” said FCCC CEO Chris Hart IV.  “A strong connection between the constitutional officers our association represents and statewide officials helps Florida’s leaders collectively determine priorities that benefit all the people of our state.”


During the 2018 Legislative Session, Sen. Brandes sponsored SB 1392, which established a groundbreaking criminal justice data reporting and transparency initiative. Rep. Sprowls, chair of the House Judiciary Committee, supported the initiative as a top priority. The bill’s passage established Florida as a national leader in data transparency.


The Clerk Partnership Awards ceremony participants included the Honorable Ken Burke, CPA (Pinellas) as presenter, the Honorable Stacy Butterfield, CPA (Polk), the Honorable Angela Vick (Citrus), the Honorable Paula O’ Neil, Ph.D., (Pasco), Chris Hart IV, FCCC CEO, and Jason Harrell, FCCC Legislative & Public Affairs Director.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal