Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Clerk News

Columbia Clerk Announces Retirement

Friday, July 31, 2020   (0 Comments)

The Honorable P. DeWitt Cason (Columbia) recently announced that he will be resigning as Columbia County’s Clerk of the Circuit Court and County Comptroller effective August 14, 2020, at 2:00 p.m. First elected in 1988, Clerk Cason will have held the position of Columbia County’s elected Clerk of the Court and County Comptroller for a total of 32 years. During his tenure, Clerk Cason served as FCCC President from 2008-2009, was the first Chairman of the Florida Courts E-Filing Authority’s Board of Directors, 2010-2011, and was selected three times for Clerk of the Year. Clerk Cason has also been a longtime member of the Florida Local Government Investment Trust (Florida Trust) Board of Trustees. Clerk Cason has greatly contributed to the continuity of Clerk programs and the association during his tenure as Columbia County Clerk.


It should be noted that at this time Clerk Cason has requested that Governor Ron DeSantis name James Swisher, Jr., as the interim Clerk; Mr. Swisher is the unopposed Clerk-Elect in Columbia County.


The association would like to thank the Honorable P. DeWitt Cason for his many years of service to Columbia County and his role in supporting the Clerks of Florida. The association wishes him well in retirement and his next stage in life.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal